Putting info pro work on back burner for a while 

Almost 30 years to the day since I started my first professional library job – at Today newspaper no less – I’m taking a bit of a break. Today will be my last full day of information work for a while.

I shall be sad to leave the Crick Institute in London. I’ve worked with some incredibly gifted people, who have been a joy to work with. I’ve had impact on how the Crick’s library & information services are organised & delivered, & look forward to keeping in touch to find out how plans progress.

The Francis Crick Institute, London
The Francis Crick Institute, London

I’ll miss working in an iconic building & entertaining people on tours. I doubt I’ll ever work anywhere with so much choice when it comes to areas to work in. Definitely one of the joys of having a building designed to encourage collaborative working & fitted out with appropriate furniture.

For those who haven’t heard: I’m stepping aside from information things for 9 months to expand my skills. I’m taking a PGCE (Postgraduate Certificate in Education) in teaching secondary school geography. It’s going to be challenging for all sorts of reasons:

– actually being in charge of a class of teenagers & teaching them geography;

– grappling with masters level academic work – something I last did more than 12 years ago;

– working in a school environment – no more iconic designed work space.

I start on 4 Sept & have 2.5 weeks at St Mary’s University, Twickenham before starting a school placement (won’t know where until 4 Sept) for the autumn term.

I will remain as CILIP President for the rest of 2017. I have a couple of meetings to chair & speaking engagements lined up for the latter part of the year.

Wish me luck & keep an eye out for a training to teach blog.

 

2 thoughts on “Putting info pro work on back burner for a while 

  1. Wow that sounds amazing and a great challenge! Good luck with everything (the kids and the academic work!).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.