#blogjune: post 21: My work/home set up q & a

As a participant in #blogjune I’m creating a post to answer the 4 questions for answering on 21 June that Paul Hagon  posted on behalf of Dan Bogan of The Setup .

  1. Who are you, and what do you do?

I’m Kate Arnold, currently I am CILIP (Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals) President, and my day job is Information Services Development Manager at The Francis Crick Institute in London. The Crick is a biomedical research institute in central London. I’m responsible for developing the information services for researchers.

   2. What hardware do you use?

At work I spend my day in a hot desk environment and have a Dell laptop, which I’ve failed to get the specification of for this post.

At home I use a MacBook Pro 13-inch, Mid 2012 with 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 processor, 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 memory with Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 MB.

I also have an iPhone 6 16GB which I’ve been writing most of my #blogjune posts on and then loading them up on my MacBook Pro.

3. And what software?

I use Office at both work and home using Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Visio and Outlook. My personal email is Yahoo.

I use Dropbox and Evernote for my personal files, particularly as I can use them whenever I want and with whichever device I want.

Productivity wise, I’ve tried using some task lists but have now opted for pen and paper and am a big fan of low tech bullet journal.

Twitter is my main social media tool, but I also use LinkedIn and Instagram.

I use Skype to talk with family and friends and Webex and Gotomeeting to attend online meetings.

4. What would be your dream setup?

I’m pretty happy to work in most locations, although I find coffee shop atmosphere is very conducive to productive times when I need to focus. I do like to be within easy access of colleagues particularly when working on collaborative projects as I like to float ideas off of others.

0 Responses to “#blogjune: post 21: My work/home set up q & a”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

