#blogjune post 7: Following a conference from a distance: the joys of Twitter

I’ve just returned home from the first of three conferences I’m attending (I was at #CILIPS17 and had a great time) over the next month. My head is full of ideas and thoughts, my inbox full of work things. And then I look at Twitter – a blessing and a nuisance all in one – and realise there are loads of conferences and meets ups taking place. As someone said yesterday why have we got multiple library conferences – for yesterday that was #CILIPS, #UXlibs, #Sconul2017; for today it’s #UXlibs, #Sconul2017, #BIALL2017 and @UKSCL – on at the same time?

It’s bewildering to keep up with all that’s going on and there are inevitable overlaps; makes Twitter lurking for CPD fun. What did we do in the days before social media could provide us with real time coverage of presentations and workshops? As I recall we waited to read write ups in blogs and before that in journals, which did at least mean you got a rounded view of a conference, admittedly one person’s reflection and experience. Now we can get lots of people’s views ranging from 140 characters to blog posts.

I often dip in & out of coverage of an event on Twitter. There is a definite art to tweeting a session. I’m appreciative of those who do it in a way that allows those of us not attending to feel like we are there. Even more so, if there’s a chance to interact in real time.

I had that opportunity, by chance, at lunchtime today. I came across the excellent #candocafe run by NHS East of England libraries. Thanks to Isla Kuhn for bringing this to my attention. It’s their second cafe this year; a practical example of sharing best practice between health libraries & the local public libraries.

IslaTweet

You can read a Storify of #candocafe My favourite suggestion is to put staff expertise on the catalogue along with the books (#human library)! Such a simple idea, but with real potential in most organisations. Knowledge management meets information management.

Does anyone know of anywhere that has piloted this?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

