CPD23 Thing 3: Personal brand

It’s been interesting to contemplate my personal brand. I’ve been in the information profession for over 20 years so have developed a personal brand which I’ve been careful to manage along with my career. It’s resulted in several awards recognising my contribution to the profession including last year becoming a Fellow of SLA and a Dialog Quantum2 InfoStar .

In fact I realise I’ve been following Ned Potter’s  advice to ‘match your brand to the path you want’, be prepared to take and give advice, share and learn from others.  Up until now I’ve done the bulk of this sharing, giving and taking advice and learning offline (at conferences, meetings, in print), with occasional dabbles online. I now realise I need to do more of it online, and this has been magnified by my standing as candidate for SLA’s President-Elect this year. With the majority of membership in North America and being based in the UK I need to get my message across using social media. So I’m beefing up my online presence. I am already on Twitter (@katefromuk) and LinkedIn. I’ve opted to keep my blog and Twitter names the same for consistency. I originally set up my Twitter account at SLA’s annual conference in Seattle in 2008 and so chose KatefromUK to differentiate me.  I’m jumping into the blog posting in an ordered fashion, helped by cpd23 and SLA’s candidates questions and answers. I’m taking advice and support from others in my plans to use my blog to put forward information about me, my values, what I’m standing for and what I plan to do if elected.

So watch this space….

Leave a Reply

